Training, Triathlon

Its all about that base

I start my official training from tomorrow Monday 17 November 2014. This gives me 9 months to develop the muscular and cardiovascular conditioning required to achieve my goals.

I usually have a tendency to only focus on the strength/power/speed/aerobic and anaerobic facets of conditioning which has served me well…till now. All of a sudden I find myself with a range of niggles and injuries – calves/achilles tendon, wrist, neck

I have a feeling that this is partly – OK largely – due to my lack of focus on the flexibility/agility and core elements however I also think that it may be down to age YES, the big 40 is 10 months away.

If you are training for any sort of physical adventure you know that injury is the last thing you want – it impacts your training, mind set and overall preparation leaving you poorly equipped for the event.

I want to feel great on the event so things have to change and to start with I am going to focus on the base(ics)

How?

I came across this awesome blog by James Dunne, Performance & Rehab Director at Kinetic Revolution and have signed up to their 30 day challenge.

Why am I going to follow this challenge?

  • Because I like what James writes
  • The program promises to “Transform Your Running: Thirty Days, Thirty Workouts, Run Stronger, Run Faster

My run is probably my biggest challenge so I would be silly not to give this my full attention

  • Because the program is broken down into 5 stages each stage focusing on a specific conditioning aspect and guess what STAGE 1: Basic Mobility & Balance Training

Here’s Day 1 session I will let you know how it went once done

Have a good nights sleep

Standard

Leave a Reply

