Triathlon

And so it begins

ironman

I’ve done it! On the 17th September 2014 I signed up for Ironman 70.3 Budapest.

“Why would you do such a thing?” you may ask

A number of reasons

1) I turn 40 next year and this might be my version of a midlife crisis

2) Its been my dream to do an Ironman since I was about 16 and have finally gotten round to being fit enough to feel that I can accomplish this incredible feet of human performance

3) I was diagnosed with Hyper-obstructive Cardiomyopathy back in 2001 and was told “stop exercising or die”. I want to successfully complete Ironman 70.3 and then full Ironman in 2016 in order to motivate and inspire others with life threatening conditions

And so it begins. Over the coming months I will capture my experiences, trials and tribulations of training my mind and body to complete one of the toughest physical events with the aim on the 22 August 2015 in Budapest to

a) Finish Ironman 70.3 in the allocated time allowance

b) Finish the event alive

c) Finish with a smile on my face

Luckily this isn’t the start of my triathlon experience. Wanting to live well into my 80’s, I started my triathlon life with the Pruhealth London Sprint triathlon on the 1st June of this year (I wanted to see whether I could achieve my 3 criteria on a short course)  I am extremely proud and very grateful that I accomplished all 3 aims and even went on to complete 3 more sprints over the course of the year which allowed me to add a fourth aim to my list

d) complete each subsequent event in a faster time, feeling stronger at the finish

Next step – Training plans and dealing with injuries

Standard

Leave a Reply

